PDA

View Full Version : Shoreham RAFA show 2009. Photography.

skridlov
13th Aug 2009, 21:02
I've just been taking some snaps of a couple of aircraft (Hurricane, Spitfire) practicing for the 2009 show. I've always watched from Mill Hill in previous years but this year I'd like to attend and take some photographs. Flying photography, whether birds or aircraft, is not something that I've got a lot of experience of so has anyone on PPRUNE done any photography there before who could advise? - not so much on technique, as I have some idea about that (if lacking practical experience) but of, for example, where the best locations are for shooting the displays. Obviously this is going to be a function of the weather to some extent, but... Anyway, suggestions would be welcomed.

BTW I have acquired a Sigma 150-500 ("Stigma") recently. Not coincidental.

Synthetic
13th Aug 2009, 21:26
Shoreham will be my first attempt at at serious dslr photography. I have been practising on the local seaguls and at the model aircraft club where I used to fly. One thing I have had some success with is rather that part depressing the shutter release and allowing the camera to focus, I fully depress it so as soon as the focus is good, the picture is taken. Continuous AF doesn't seem particularly good on fast moving objects.

I too have the 150-500 and find it is capable of taking a good picture, but not wide open at 500mm. I try to stick to F10 or smaller.

Ridge Runner
14th Aug 2009, 06:25