PDA

View Full Version : Aerorbatic group near Bristol?

Pizza Express
10th Aug 2009, 19:51
I am new to the South West area and looking to join a local group/share in a decent aerobatic aircraft. If anyone knows of anything that might be of interest to me then it would be great to have a reply or PM.

I am looking for a max drive of 1 hour from Bristol and the aircraft must be capable of decent aeros eg +5/-3 min something like pitts/yak. I have an aerobatic instructor ticket and looking for something to fly maybe 6/7 hours a month when time permits for recreational use.

Best Regards

Runaway Gun
10th Aug 2009, 23:47
Suggest puting an Advertisement up on a notice board at Kemble Airfield.
In the Tower, or perhaps the AV8 restaurant.

Good calibre of experienced aeros pilot around there too.

18greens
11th Aug 2009, 21:51
How about setting up an S1 syndicate at Kemble?? Great airfield begging for more aircraft.

englishal
11th Aug 2009, 22:03
Start one at Henstridge (just East of the Yeovilton MATZ) and you'll have a couple of other chaps interested :ok:

Actually you are far more advanced in Aero's than me....and I know there is a third share in a Christen Eagle at Henstridge...I am not experienced enough in tailwheel so no good for me at the moment.

Not to mention that the Yak team will be based there soon....

18greens
12th Aug 2009, 21:46
I am very keen to get back in a pitts group but one on the pfa register this time.

If you want to help me set one up at Kemble let me know.

Pizza Express
13th Aug 2009, 18:37
I should have said must have 2 seats as like taking other people up for a jolly! Pitts S2a what would the costs be for a new group set up? Rough idea would be interesting.

18greens
20th Aug 2009, 10:10
New Group costs (roughly)

Pitts S2 £50k
Annual £4k
Hangarage £2400
Insurance £1500
They burn about 40 litres per hour.

Pitts s1 £35k
Annual £400
Hangarage £1800- thye are smaller)
Insurance £1000
They burn about 30 lph