PDA

View Full Version : Another newby thread...

7engineapproach
14th Jul 2009, 03:17
PPRuNers,
Only discovered this forum a few days ago, so if I say something wrong let me know.

At the moment, I'm half way through Year 10, and for the first time actually considering what I want to do with my life. I'm not a long time Aviation freak (didnt get my PPL at age 8, haven't been hell bent on being a pilot since I came out of the womb), however I have a passion for most things that move (working on a '75 Torana for any car geeks out there), and being a pilot seems to be a somewhat better career option than being a bus driver (only slightly though). I have no flying experience whatsoever and am extremely naive to the workings of the industry, for all I knew you walked into Qantas at the end of Year 12 and instantly got a job. Anyway, now that I have a slightly improved knowledge of becoming a pilot, I have a few questions. The more you read, the more questions you have!
I live in Adelaide, so all my local flying schools are at Parafield. From what I've read on these forums the best option is Flight Training Adelaide (yes?, I'll go for a TIF at some stage). Also, I've been pointed towards the UniSA course by my school, and without getting into a war over the merits of an aviation degree, is the training they offer up to a satisfactory standard? Lastly, do airlines (major and regional) prefer to recruit former instructors or charter guys? The dream is to have my feet up in the captain's seat of an A380, so I'd like to know. I know some of the UniSA grads go on to be instructors and I think I'd like instructing :) Although racing through the Kimberley in a 210 doesn't sound too bad either :E

Of course, none of this applies if I could score a QF cadetship :ok:

Cheers.

The Green Goblin
14th Jul 2009, 03:45
PM Plank Bender, he seems pretty savvy when it comes to how a pilot should be trained and what skills they should have as an ATPL. :cool: