PDA

View Full Version : Worst aiport for aviators.

phineas
7th Jul 2009, 18:10
I’m new to this so please be gentle. I’ve probably been to 20 international airports in my life if I were to rank them best to worst Heathrow, from a passenger perspective, would be in the top quarter. From an aviators point of view which are the worst? There must be some unpleasant and aggressive ATC, incompetent ATC, bizarre local regulations, dangerous approaches etc.

HeathrowAirport
8th Jul 2009, 07:16
In my Oppinion Heathrow is not the worste it does more with less than any other airport, I think saying its the worste just defies the object that thousands do everyday.

Remember Heathrow is changing and getting better not worse.

Wannabe Flyer
8th Jul 2009, 07:35
From a passenger perspective I look for the following at any airport

1) Ease of movement within the airport
2) Spare time activities/dining/shopping
3) Clean Toilets
4) Good and speedy immigration
5) Good ground connections
6) Baggage handling
7) Baggage carts that dont have minds of thier own

(Above in no particular order)

My favourites

1) Hong Kong
2) Bangkok
3) Singapore
4) Amsterdam (love the housefly in the urinal, you should see first time flyers aiming high!!)
5) Newark

Recent disappointments

1) Amman
2) Dubai (more to do with that they have made them selves out to be larger than life and they are not)
3) Sanya

Flying thru LHR is a pain as a passenger, especially post 9/11. Have successfully avoided over the years with with all the new non stop flights and different services now availiable. Still miss the charm of flying in the late 80's and early 90's where smiles were all over the place.

Just my 2 cents as a passenger.

Akrapovic
8th Jul 2009, 08:15
I find Italian airports can be a bit of a nightmare.