PDA

View Full Version : Logging hours in USA

girl with a stick
5th Jul 2009, 06:57
G'day,

I'm a CPL student, currently holding a PPL, and am planning to visit the States in September, where I'd like to do some cross country flying.

Have searched the CASA website and PPRuNe forums, and am not returning much info. So, am going to play the "techno-bimbo" card, and ask if anyone out there knows whether:

a) I can log my hours, and count them towards CPL;
b) I need a temporary licence

Any info/experience anyone out there has would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

GWAS

Warbo
5th Jul 2009, 07:07
I went to an FAA office in Fresno and got my US licence in about 15 minutes. One condition was to get a check-ride so that I understood the airspace. That was pre-September 11, so I guess it would be different now.

You can log hours flying on the moon if you get the chance.

esreverlluf
5th Jul 2009, 07:31
Like Warbo, I did some flying in the US pre Sept 11, at that stage one could get a FAA licence over the counter on the strength of an Australian licence and medical. No one will hire you an aeroplane however, until you complete a check ride of probably something like 3 hours duration for insurance reasons.

Once that is over with, the flying is great - can get RAS just about anywhere and the place is really set up for GA.

It may be a little more difficult to get the licence now security-wise, but still well worth doing. Have fun!

There is no problem with logging the hours.

glenb
5th Jul 2009, 07:48
With a valid US licence you can certainly log the hours but only towards the 200 hour CPL and not towards the 150 hour CPL. With the 150 integrated course all hours must be completed as part of the schools 150 hour syllabus.

desert goat
5th Jul 2009, 19:24