PDA

View Full Version : Helicopter torque reaction?

cbennett
25th Jun 2009, 19:33
Im sorry in advanced if this has been previously been covered, but iv searched the net and this forum and didn't find what i am looking for. At work im currently studying the helicopter theory of flight and we've come onto the topic of torque reaction. Now i know that it involves Newton's law stating that everything has to have an equal and opposite reaction opposing it, but what i do not understand is how the force is physically created in the opposite direction to the spinning rotor blades. At first it seemed logical for the body of the aircraft to want to spin in the same direction to the rotor, not against it but taking Newtons law into consideration it makes sense to spin in the opposite direction to the rotor blade. Im imagining that it must be the force of the fixed main rotor gear box acting on the mechanism to turn the the blades? Im not to sure however. Any input helping shed light on the matter would be much appreciated.

chris

25th Jun 2009, 19:42
Get one person to stand on a childs roundabout and another to try to push him around whilst standing on a skate board. Equal and opposite reaction will mean that the roundabout moves one way and the chap on the skateboard moves the other.

The roundabout represents the gears of the MRGearbox attached to the main rotor head and the guy on the skate board is the engine bolted to the fuselagetrying to drive the gearbox gears. The engine can't move but is attached to the fuselage that can and so it spins in the opposite direction to the rotor.

A simplistic explanation but I hope it helps.

Um... lifting...
25th Jun 2009, 19:46
Action-reaction