PDA

View Full Version : Second Hand Parts on New Machines

Ned-Air2Air
12th May 2009, 06:56
Question for all members here that has me deep in thought (no smart ass comments) about the consequences.

I got a PM from a subscriber on one of the forums I belong to regarding some issues he is having on behalf of an owner of a helo he bought on his behalf, a brand new machine. Here is the para that causes me concern, and its cut and pasted from his message to me.

This combined with some oil cooler bearings and belt that were second hand( been on 7 different airframes) on delivery has insensed him.

Now I am not going to say who, where or what at this stage but would like some input from members here about the consequences of such actions. if I bought a new helo and found out some parts on it were second hand I would be rightly pi$$ed off.

Ned

gittijan
12th May 2009, 07:28
Anyone buying a new helicopter should read the contract carefully. At least one OEM has a clause that allows repaired items to be fitted to new aircraft if deemed airworthy. It can always be negotiated out or a price adjustment made.

VfrpilotPB/2
12th May 2009, 07:49
In the UK that would be covered by the "Sale of Goods Act", under those circumstances , Log Books, Manual and keys should be handed back to the seller in return for full monies or another NEW machine in exchange.

If it happened to me thats what I would have done as soon as the problem was discovered!! at the same time telling all and sundry about the Low down scumbag who was trying to con me!!:eek:

Peter R-B
Vfr

NorthSeaTiger
12th May 2009, 09:14
Ok but what if the 2nd hand part has been fully overhauled and has the same amount of hours available as the "new" part ? (before anyone shoots me down obviously if were talking Service life limited parts then I can see where the problem lies).

NST

widgeon
12th May 2009, 09:21