PDA

View Full Version : At what experience level does it get easier?

Okavango
7th May 2009, 21:56
I understand there are no jobs at the moment. But in average times, what level of experience provides a real threshold opening opportunities in professional positions (ie those that will pay a mortgage etc). I've heard mention of 500hrs, 1000hrs, I guess based on insurance or command structures?

excrab
7th May 2009, 22:44
The UK job market appears to run on a seven year cycle, but more of that below.

In the early 1990s when there were no jobs about I was lucky to get a job flying for a fourth/fifth level carrier (if it goes down that far) having lost my job in the uk. At the time I had been flying for a living for 8 years. However, there were guys coming out of Oxford and Cabair in 1992 who didn't find jobs in airlines until 1998/99.

Now 15 years later, having lost another job in the UK I am flying a slightly bigger aircraft still a long way from home, because it is all I can find. So based on history, if you have just graduated from an approved course in 2009it could be 2015 before you get to fly anything bigger than a PA31.

There are probably no such thing as "average times" but if there are, this may be what they are like. And it fits with the seven year thing.

Sorry if it isn't what you wanted to hear.

Big_Mach
8th May 2009, 11:23
All bets are off in this perverse time when 200hrs gets you ahead of 2000hrs on the CV pile but, back in the normal world, operators are trying to get a balance of experience vs cost vs risk throughout their flight crew. In short that means it depends on their current requirements (which can change on a daily basis). So sometimes they need senior FOs because they have a lot of new inexperienced captains, other times they are happy to take low-hours who will cost less and fit into their planned manpower requirements.

Basically I would translate hour requirements (on commercial aircraft) thus: