PDA

View Full Version : Right helicopter for a yacht

Boelkow
6th May 2009, 19:28
Hi helicopter pilots,

I would need your professional opinion. We are looking for a helicopter to be based on a private yacht. I was a helicopter pilot some years ago, but have never landed on a yacht, but flown helicopters with skids, as well with landing wheels. For me it makes more sense to have wheels because of smother touchdown while the yacht is moving up and down. The choppers we want to take a closer look are the AS365 and the Agusta Grand.
What do you think.
Boelkow

spencer17
6th May 2009, 21:21
I would prefer skids plus a net on the deck for landing on a yacht.
Even in relative rough conditions :E between 40° and 65° in the south Atlantic I felt safe and landings were not to hard (BO 105).
But there are probably some guy's out there having experience on both skids and wheels.

Phrogman
6th May 2009, 21:50
Matching the correct helo to a yacht has lots of variables as I am sure you are becoming aware of. I have flown both the 365 and 109E to ship decks and can tell you the pros and cons of each off line, but the thing about Yachts is that helidecks tend to be an after thought in designing, and even if your vessel does have the deck, is there sufficient load bearing ability and rotor clearance to do the ops safely. You are considering some larger birds (relatively) for this endeavor, so I hope those two variables are well accounted for. How big is the vessel and can you provide a picture of the intended helideck?

MRP12
6th May 2009, 21:55
How big is your yacht as that is a major factor is chosing what type to use?

MRP12

FFF
6th May 2009, 22:13
Do you already have a helideck or are you looking to refit one?
If you already have one, what helicopter was it designed for?