PDA

View Full Version : On Board Drinking Water

Niallo
28th Apr 2009, 14:29
FAs usually offer pax drinking water from a pitcher. Where does this water come from? From tanks filled up at the last airport? From bottles? Is it purified on board? Tested? Safe?

TightSlot
28th Apr 2009, 14:54
It come from the drinking (potable) water tank on-board. The water is tested, sanitized and regularly checked both at source and on the aircraft. It may not always taste sensational as a result of the chemical cleansing. I have operated to destinations where the potable water was not up to standard, and round-trip water was carried from the UK, and in one case, where we diverted to uplift. I have been drinking it regularly, hot and cold, for over 30 years: I am not dead - most days I feel pretty good.

That said, I anticipate follow up posts from others who will now prove to you beyond a doubt that airline potable water is a festering cocktail of lethal microbes that will do things to you that make Lassa Fever look like an itchy nostril.

man friday
28th Apr 2009, 15:15
just drink beer instead!

always in a bottle, or can and sterilized on production

boardingpass
28th Apr 2009, 17:12
I believe the water is safe, but I do wonder what is at the bottom of those tanks on aircraft 10, 15 or 20+ years old.

CornishFlyer
28th Apr 2009, 17:48
Cold water from BA is poured from bottles of Highland Spring water. The hot water used in tea and coffee is, as stated, from the potable water tanks ;)

WHBM
28th Apr 2009, 20:32
Water from the potable bulk tanks goes through an ultra-violet filter which, along with particle filters, deals with anything undesirable in the water. These have been around for a long time - the restaurant cars on trains, where the vehicle has been maybe standing in the sidings overnight, have long had the same UV technology.

Rainboe
28th Apr 2009, 20:56