PDA

View Full Version : Measuring Resistance Of EGT Probes (CF6)

NSEU
11th Apr 2009, 22:30
Hi, folks.

I haven't done much work on this system and was asked to take measurements of each EGT probe on a CF6. The AMM asks you to take a resistance reading across the terminals of each probe, then swap over the pos/neg leads of the meter and measure again (then work out the average).

Some of the measurements were fairly standard, but then others were showing a higher than normal resistance in one direction and a negative resistance(???) in the other.

Is this normal?

Does it have something to do with the Chromel /Alumel (disimilar metals) junctions ... or was I doing something wrong?

Thanks.
Rgds.
NSEU

cockney steve
12th Apr 2009, 14:50
Well, no-one else has replied, so here goes......NOTE! I'm not an electronics expert nor an aircraft engineer.

A resistance-meter normally works by massing a battery's voltage through it's meter and calibrated resistances,,,,the current through the circuit is thus proportional to the unknown resistance placed on series in the "circuit" the Ua 's of current through the meter are read off the appropriate Ohms scale.

A thermistor alters it's resistance with temperature....I would expect to see the same resistance irrespective of test-meter polarity, though I suppose it's possible that meter-current could heat the thermistor, thus altering it's value dynamically whilst measuring.

Now the interesting bit!.....you talk of a bi-metallic junction device......well, from my limited knowledge, this is akin to a thermocouple or even a semiconductor (transistor, diode? )