PDA

View Full Version : To which aircraft does this cockpit belong?

EMF
11th Apr 2009, 20:09
Hello everyone, a total newbie so please be nice :)

I was going through some old photos today which I inherited from my Dad in 1996. There's one that's always puzzled me. It's of a cockpit. I believe he took it himself probably in the late 60s or the 70s. It would probably have been taken in an airport in England - perhaps Heathrow. Mum and Dad didn't travel abroad until later in life.

I would love to know which aircraft it was taken in. And as a wildside bonus who are the pilot, co-pilot and navigator?

If anyone can identify the plane I will love you to bits forever.

Here it is - many thanks

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a127/Miss-Marple/img447.jpg

Mad (Flt) Scientist
11th Apr 2009, 20:14
Looks like a Trident (http://www.cwdflight.co.uk/cos05.html) of some kind.

Chille Con Carnie
11th Apr 2009, 20:46
Good to see an Adult on board (FE) ?

whatbolt
11th Apr 2009, 20:48
defo a Trident

EMF
11th Apr 2009, 21:04
Thank you everyone!

But CCC - I don't understand your remark about the Adult and FE?

Any further clues as to when and where it was taken

Mad (Flt) Scientist
11th Apr 2009, 21:07
But CCC - I don't understand your remark about the Adult and FE?

He's noting approvingly that the aircraft is old enough to have a Flight Engineer aboard - an 'adult' to stop the pesky teenagers in the front seats breaking thigs too much.

(Akin to the myth of the perfectly automated cockpit, with a big button, a pilot and a dog. The pilot's job is just to press the button. The dog's job being to bite the pilot if he tries to press the button)

EMF
11th Apr 2009, 21:12
Mad (Flt) thank you for that explanation ~ROFL~ and my apologies for classing the Adult as a navigator instead of giving him his proper title of FE :)

Rainboe
11th Apr 2009, 21:20