PDA

View Full Version : Monarch "Holiday Airline" ITV1 show

brockenspectre
7th Sep 2001, 23:35
Hmmmmm just watching this "docusoap" and a parent whose child will be 2 on the return flight was kicking up a fuss because he was not allocated a seat for the child on the outbound flight.

As an ex travel agent I KNOW that if the child will be 2 on the return flight then that infant-child is charged a FULL child price for the entire vacation.

That this parent should have been told by Monarch that the infant was an infant on the outbound and Cosmos/Avro was not paid for that seat on the outbound but there would be a seat for the child on the inbound seems very wrong to me!!

Do airlines have different rules from those they require travel agents/tour operators to observe? (ie a child is a child paying full fare for both flights if 2 or above on return journey)...

:D

Sagey
8th Sep 2001, 03:36
Is it just me or is Holiday Airline even worse than the Easy version. Last nights edition spent more time filming people eating a full English than they did about the Airline.

People getting angry over delays, people losing their passport is just not interesting every single week. A bit of diversity would be great. IE one week do 30 minutes in the flight deck. Next week follow role of cabin crew etc.

Sagey

sky9
8th Sep 2001, 13:26
Reminds me of the old joke. Why are Monarch painted canary yellow? - because the holidays are cheap. :D OK not really that funny but we have to question why there are so many TV programmes following the same theme year after year - I suspect, because they are so cheap.

Cannot think why any airline managers ever allow them to be filmed - I suspect for the same reason; cheap publicity, and that is exactly what they get in both meanings of the word.

Whiskey Zulu
8th Sep 2001, 17:30