PDA

View Full Version : Canadian looking for the African adventure

ImmortalCookie
29th Mar 2009, 05:27
Hi,
As i know with this very tight knit industry, word of mouth is usually the best way of going at things. And well.. since im quite far from any African country i was wondering if any of you could help.

I have been working in the aviation industry in Canada for 3 years + and have only 330 hours to show all the hard work i have done. Africa has always been a very appealing place for me to go visit/live/ and/or work and i thought what better time to check it out.

I was wondering what countries would be best recommended to try starting my aviation career in and what the industry in Africa is currently like?
Is there much movement or is it at a dead stop just like here in Canada for the low time pilot?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

What i am mainly looking for are the names of some regional carriers and/or safaris that WOULD accept minimum time pilots to fly for them.

Cheers,
-Fred :ok:

SAT_BOSS
29th Mar 2009, 08:22
Hi sorry to sound disapointing but:::

Low timers here in Africa has the esame hassles as anywhere else. I fyou have a large portion of your 300 odd hourse on C206 or C210's then a very short "maybe" exsits that someone in the Delta might look at you. But remember that the pilots are many, the jobs are few and the competition very tough. In the Delta you might be lucky but its 99% of "right place" right time and if you are sitting at Rileys and someone shouts 206 driver and you happen to be the only one standing around (which will be as rare as hens teeth) you might be lucky ....

Having said that nothing is impossible but from here to even try is impossible, you have to come over with say 3 months worth of living expenses and wait it out say a month before the season starts in the Delta ....