PDA

View Full Version : High Definition camera mount for Jetranger

Dick Smith
24th Mar 2009, 21:34
I知 considering making a few extra documentaries this year and I知 wondering if anyone has any clues about a high definition video camera mount for a Jetranger.

Rather than going all the way to one of those gyro balls, which cost upward of $200,000 each, I知 wondering if anyone has mastered mounting a video camera on the nose with a way of removing the inherent two per rev vibration.

Any clues or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Alternatively, someone may know of a cheap gyro ball which is for sale.

Catpants
24th Mar 2009, 21:58
Dick

I've been working in film/TV for over 25 years, both self-employed and now at the biggest production rental company in the world.

I have a work-in-progress project that involves creating a cheap alternative to the ridiculously expensive options currently available.

The project also involves a colleague of mine from Boeing Aerospace and the ultimate aim is to produce a product for around the AU$50k mark.

If you're inclined and/or interested in knowing some more details, please PM me. I'm based in Sydney.

Rgd's

Catpants

southerncanuck
24th Mar 2009, 22:46
we have mounts for
- 206 / 407 , nose, belly and aft tail area
- all are faa stc'd

as for cheap cameras, got to be some coming on the market with consolidation of the US ENG market
cal

misterbonkers
24th Mar 2009, 23:00
Tyler have just created something along these lines. Last time I looked at the Flightlogistics website (UK Rep for Tyler) they were offering it for rent. Not sure what outright purchase price is though.

MikeNYC
25th Mar 2009, 00:42
Sorry for ignoring your nose mount request, but if you're OK with a door mount, try Arnie Itzkowitz's Aerial Exposures platform: Gyro Stabilized Video Film Camera Mount Platform Stabilized Video Film Camera Mount Gyro Stabilizer Video Film (http://www.aerialexposures.com/gyroplatform.htm) .