PDA

View Full Version : Flight deck seat rail lubrication.

tubby linton
16th Mar 2009, 21:18
How often, if ever, do flight deck seat rails get lubricated?I am not an engineer,and my old airbus currently has a prohibition on the use of the electric motor to move the seat.Trying to move the seat manually is causing myself and my colleagues many problems.

TURIN
16th Mar 2009, 23:11
Stick it in the log and see what happens. :ok:

IFIX
17th Mar 2009, 00:11
The rails are never lubricated.
The seats move along the rail on rollers.
If one of these seizes it could well be the motor c/b pops due to the excessive load.
Sounds like your ground crew needs a new roller to stick under your seat.

Any lubrication on the rails will only cause dirt to stick to the rail which will wear it out prematurely.

tubby linton
17th Mar 2009, 15:08
Thank you all for your replies.Due to a one time occurence of a defect the entire worldwide fleet of this aircraft type has had the motor operation modified to preclude its use to move the seat horizontally.The problem is compounded in that the seat moves outboard at the end of its travel. It is trying to move it manually sideways and then forwards that is causing the problem.Next time I fly I will put it in the log.

HP115
17th Mar 2009, 15:23
Which "old Airbus" are we on about?

NutLoose
17th Mar 2009, 19:04
Damn, I hope he doesn't put in the log that we told him to... :}

They will probably clear it with "Pilot informed to buy some platform shoes" :ok:

tubby linton
17th Mar 2009, 21:05
Why are the rails of the DV windows greased then?
Can anybody recommend a good osteopath?

Fargoo
17th Mar 2009, 22:27

The DV window rails are lubed as part of the MPD as recommended by the manufacturer. The seat rails aren't as the manufacturer doesn't call for it, i'm sure they have their reasons.
If the seat is too stiff then it needs overhauling , if you wait the electric controls should be re-instated soon once the seat has been inspected/replaced.