PDA

View Full Version : Bored of India, anything out in Africa for me

LOGS
2nd Mar 2009, 09:45
Well I'm an expat pilot flying in India and well I'm looking for a new challenge. Africa has always excited me and would give me a chance to do some "real" flying till I retire to an airline job or something like that. I know the old saying of just show up and start asking around but that's really not an option for me. My experience:

four engine jock
2nd Mar 2009, 13:37
Stay Away!!!!!!!!!!

LOGS
2nd Mar 2009, 19:30
How was I insensitive or had a bad attitude about anything? I understand the economy is bad but most jobs lost in the aviation world are with commerical airlines which never really appealled to me so really never effected me. Should I have the attitude in switching jobs because I have to, not because I wanted to or wanted a new challenge? Seriously this forum has the worst attitude I've seen on the web.

PhoenixDC
2nd Mar 2009, 19:46
Hey LOGS, if you can not take a joke, you should not live and work in Africa!

AlternativeProcedure
2nd Mar 2009, 21:25
The guy wants information about openings in Africa, if you can help him out please do so, if you cant no problem. People move jobs for different reasons. Lets leave the reasons out of the issue. If you have any useful leads, and you are willing to help him then do so, no need to slaughter the chap. After all, when he leaves his job in india, there will be an opening there for someone who needs it.

AP

TXaviator
2nd Mar 2009, 23:59
suitecaseman:

your assumption that the ONLY choice in aviation in VERTICAL job movement is false.

people can OFTEN move LATERALLY to other jobs for many many reasons, many of which are perfectly valid and nonthreatening.

perhaps you feel threatened? sounds like a personal issue.... let the man look for a job wherever he feels suited to look.

WDaron
3rd Mar 2009, 00:46
Jason -

Suitcaseman gave you some excellent advice. I don't understand what your problem with it is.

ugflyer