PDA

View Full Version : "Hero" pilot's pay cut, pension stopped

TeddyRuxpin
24th Feb 2009, 15:15
Sky News reporting that he's 40% down, and pension scrapped. No word on whether that was before / after the crash landing.

To be clear - there is NO suggestion it's in any way whatesoever linked to the Hudson incident

Link: Hudson River Plane Crash: Hero Pilot Chesley Sullenberger Has Pay Cut And Pension Stopped | World News | Sky News (http://tinyurl.com/bwgzye)

Oilhead
24th Feb 2009, 15:28
Yup - me too club. All post 9/11 - I am down 40% and lost defined pension. Common picture in US airlines.

BelArgUSA
24th Feb 2009, 15:39
Salaries and pensions slashed...?
xxx
Common occurence in USA... Since the 1970s...
I was a PanAm pilot, airline bankruptcy in 1991... was hired in 1968.
My PanAm pension is US$ 1,200/month.
xxx
Ask ex-Eastern, or Braniff pilots... same story.
Airline pilots are very rich people.
At least that is what the public believes.
xxx
:confused:
Happy contrails

rebellion
24th Feb 2009, 16:00
Sully is spot on.

Do air passengers in the UK know they could be on a plane with a pilot who is paying to be there for hour building? For some pilots who haven't been taken on by the airlines they can pay for their own type ratings and pay to fly to get some hours.

It would make a great 'panorama' or 'dispatches' program to find out what really goes on behind the flight deck door with regards to this.

I wonder how the passengers of that US Airways Jet would have felt if they had a pay-as-you go pilot on board.

And there are some good stories to be told about the quality of these guys, some good but some very bad indeed.

There's little or no selection procedure- it's all a quick buck for the airlines.

Disgrace :ugh:

fernytickles
24th Feb 2009, 16:22