PDA

View Full Version : Your Worst Flight And Why

COA777
9th Dec 2000, 06:38
Pilots or just pax (passengers) are welcome to answer. I am a CAO 777-200 pilot. My worst flight was from EWR - LHR. We were delayed 11 hours for snow on the runway and we had a lot of turbulence over the Atlantic. Share your experiences.

Bally Heck
9th Dec 2000, 11:30
Luxury COA777, used to dream about bein' delayed 11 hours. We thought we was lucky if we were only delayed t' week.

Used to dream about t' turbulence over t' Atlantic. We though we was lucky if t'wings was still on at end of trip.

Don't tell me about snow on runway. We used to have to take of in ten foot snow drifts and we still had to do assumed temperature derates. Flight ops manager used to go into hysterics as we went of end of t'runway still only doing t'ten knots.

:) :) :)

Hotel Tango
9th Dec 2000, 11:42
YMX-LIS on a TAP B707. 5 hours (of a six hour flight) of moderate turbulence - compounded by being seated in the very last row, thus getting the full effect of rudder and elevator deflections. I kid you not, I came away with bruised thighs from the constant bashing they got bouncing from armrest to armrest.

CREWS PLEASE NOTE: what you may categorise as light turbulence up front can well be moderate at back! So think about the poor buggers in the last rows :)

[This message has been edited by Hotel Tango (edited 09 December 2000).]

Tricky Woo
9th Dec 2000, 16:08
My first NFT (failed) was easily the worst flight of my life. Even now, I can't bear to think about it.

Oceanic Airspace
9th Dec 2000, 16:38
COA777:

What were you doing in LHR?? Surely, you guys don't operate into there?? Must've been a really terrible flight if you got lost and landed at the wrong airport!!!

:) :) :)

[This message has been edited by Oceanic Airspace (edited 09 December 2000).]

HugMonster
9th Dec 2000, 16:40
On one IR training ride, my instructor's debrief started with:-