PDA

View Full Version : FAA Flight Dispatcher Certificate - KNOWLEDGE SHARING

Aviator_FK
29th Jan 2009, 17:27
I have a foreign (ICAO contracting state) flight dispatcher certificate aka flight operations officer license. I also hold commercial pilot license. I am now residing in NC, USA and currently working towards conversion of my foreign commercial license into FAA commercial certificate.
I have little non US experience as flight dispatcher about less than 2 years, with a small cargo and charter operator.
I would like to acquire FAA flight dispatcher certificate, but unfortunately FAR do not offer any provision to convert dispatcher license.

What are the options (certianly cost effective) available for me?

FlightDispatch
7th Feb 2009, 10:48
Hey Mate,

Actually I'm doing the FAA Dispatchers license. It is quite expensive the cheapest on-site course is Jeppesen which I remember was about 6000USD thats all course feee, books, exams, and most importantly Accomodation. I'm afraid I've not heard of any transition from an ICAO to FAA. According to FAA Regulations you have to attend the dispatchers course with a minimum time spent on it to be authorized to do it. I myself am actually doing a Distance learning course which is alot cheaper since you do everything at home. It costs about 2500USD but no free accomodation plus it takes over 2 months rather than the 6 weeks intense course. But I can't afford it. So there you go. Good luck.

BelArgUSA
7th Feb 2009, 15:19
Aviator FK -
xxx
The best dispatcher training (with outstanding reputation with airlines) is Sheffield School of Aeronautics. They are known by US airlines and foreign air carriers as well. They are located in Ft. Lauderdale, FL, and their training takes some 8 weeks. The cost in approximately $5,000, all inclusive. Several sessions are available each calendar year. See their website.
xxx