PDA

View Full Version : UK politics - Hamsterwheel

JB Mods
17th Jan 2009, 23:57
Friendly reminder from your neighbourhood Mods:

Post in accordance with the JB ROE
When someone doesn't, ignore the post or use the http://static.pprune.org/images/buttons/report.gif on the left of each post.
Do not flame.

Failure to stick to the above will lead to failure of your username.

Go for it Ladies and Gentlemen. :)

verticalhold
20th Jan 2009, 14:21
Storminnorm;

One was too many, and sadly our political leaders never learned from history. Every country to try a military solution in Afghanistan in the last 150 years has had it's arse kicked out again. The idiot defence minister who claimed British forces could leave after six months without a shot being fired should go on bended knee to the families of all those killed, of whatever nationality and plead for forgiveness. Instead of which he'll end up with a title and a huge pension.

I'm an ex-infantry officer and even a thicko like me could have told them they were wrong to try.

VH

airfoilmod
20th Jan 2009, 14:24
O/T, BUT. The Moojah were our dearest friends when savaging the Bear, now they are sworn enemies. Afghani is a place without reason for those who value it.

Storminnorm
20th Jan 2009, 15:11
Verticalhold and Airfoilmod. Agree with everything you say,
Afghanistan is, and always has been, a pain in the arse for
the rest of the World, and why we thought we could sort it
out this time around, I just don't know.
The realistic thing to do would be to just pull out and leave
them to it. Whatever "It" is.
The loss of one life trying to bring stability to a dump like
that is, as you said, too many. Just let 'em get on with it.
The price of staying is too high.
Problem is the Heroin price is also too high, and they will
never stop producing it and waging war over it.
Hopeless situation.

Rollingthunder
20th Jan 2009, 15:18