PDA

View Full Version : Definition of Libel

stagger
7th Oct 2000, 14:40
I'm not an expert but I believe that some of the definitions of libel that have been given in some recent threads aren't quite accurate. I'm pretty sure that published material is libelous only if...

1) The material is defamatory either on its face or indirectly, i.e. it damages someones reputation (causes someone to be shamed, ridiculed, held in contempt, or lowered in the estimation of the community).

2) The defamatory statement is about someone who is identifiable to one or more persons.

3) The material is distributed to someone other than the offended party; i.e. published.

4) The statement is false. In most juristictions, truth is an absolute defence against a libel action (I think Quebec might be an exception to this).

Libel can occur without intent and malice. However, intentional publication of defamatory material that is known to be false is typically dealt with more severely that inadvertant libel.

[This message has been edited by stagger (edited 07 October 2000).]

HugMonster
7th Oct 2000, 22:23
Not quite correct, stagger.
Libel n.
A defamatory statement made in permanent form, such as writing, pictures or film. Radio and television broadcasts for general release and public performance of plays are treated as being made in permanent form for the purposes of the law of defamation. A libel is actionable in tort without proof that its publication has caused special damage (actual financial or material loss) to the person defamed). Libel can also be a crime (criminal libel). Proof of publication of the statement to third parties is not necessary in criminal libel and truth is a defence only if the statement was published for the public benefit.
(Oxford Concise Dictionary of Law)