PDA

View Full Version : A Question was Asked

Rollingthunder
18th Jan 2009, 09:47
" ... why do these crashes always seem to elicit an awful lot of interest?"

Because as professionals in various aspects of the industry we care greatly about what we do and the human beings who use our services. When things go wrong we are devastated and want desparately to find causation and correction.

I was once interviewed and I came up with what seems to be my best quote.

" An aircraft flight is a complex event in a dangerous environment and there is no room for errors ".

corsair
18th Jan 2009, 10:05
Indeed that's true. As a pilot I naturally maintain an interest in crashes that is more than merely morbid because one day that could be me. Every accident add to the knowledge pool. Better for me to learn from other pilots scary moment.

On the other hand the average punter is fascinated by 'plane crashes' because in their ordinary lives most fly and it always crosses their mind that this flight 'could be the one'.

Crosshair
18th Jan 2009, 10:06
I would say that errors are expected. It's when many errors reinforce each other that disasters happen. Holes in the cheese etc. A single error should not fail a transport aircraft.

M.Mouse
18th Jan 2009, 11:01
So what is the excuse of rubber neckers at road accidents?

Gooneyone
18th Jan 2009, 11:37
"So what is the excuse of rubber neckers at road accidents?"

Either:
a) That could be be me - thankfully I'm too smart for that to happen to me.
or
b) Look at that idiot - he deserves what he got
or
c) Poor fools, they are really unlucky.

The rubberneckers are looking at something that could never happen to them because they live right/are lucky/are smart or know better.
Human beings are a strange bunch.

Storminnorm
18th Jan 2009, 11:52
Let's face it, there is always a fascination with the mis-fortune
that befalls others.
The sort of accident that generally CAN'T ever happen to you.
Hopefully! :rolleyes:

jetset lady