PDA

View Full Version : Total pack failure

Brianoz
18th Jan 2009, 04:23
Hi,

I'm studying some jet aircraft systems and learning about pressurisation. However, I don't think I've got a total understanding of what happens with a total pack failure (not a rapid depressurisation-door failure etc). My questions are:

I understand cabin pressure will rise, but why can't the outflow valves seal the cabin completely to simply maintain the cabin pressure? Also, will cabin temperature rise or fall?

Thanks

waren9
18th Jan 2009, 05:13
Most aircraft have atleast 2 packs. A dual pack failure or other situation requiring both packs (or both engine bleeds) switched off is unlikely.

In this case, the outflow valve will move to the fully closed position in an attempt to maintain cabin pressure. The aircraft will tend to depresurise as they are not air tight. How fast it depresurises will depend on how much it leaks. It is cabin altitude that will rise, not cabin pressure.

Initially cabin temp would fall with the drop in pressure, although later will heat up quickly if the cabin is full of people and no other action is taken.

Intruder
18th Jan 2009, 05:21
However, it is likely that a 2-pack airplane is allowed to dispatch with 1 operable pack. In that case, a second failure is not unforeseeable...

Normal leakage will allow slow depressurization even if the outflow valves are closed.

The ram air valve installed in some (e.g., 747 Classic) airplanes may give a few tenths of a psi of differential pressure, but that's all.

SNS3Guppy
18th Jan 2009, 06:37
I understand cabin pressure will rise, but why can't the outflow valves seal the cabin completely to simply maintain the cabin pressure? Also, will cabin temperature rise or fall?