PDA

View Full Version : 767 inboard ailerons

orion1210
13th Jan 2009, 22:04
Hi,

I flew on a delta 767-300er out of manchester on sunday to ATL. I was sat on the left side and noticed in the cruise that the left inboard aileron or aka high speed aileron was deflected up by about what looked to be 6-8 inches.
At first I assumed there was a fuel imbalance, but it stayed this way for the duration of the 9 hr flight. Surely an imbalance would of been dealt with. I didn't see the right side, but I don't think it was trim for yawing due assymetric thrust as I couldn't detect any yaw and surely you wouldn't fly the whole sector like that?
The only thing i can come up with is that both sides were rigged up. As a licenced engineer I can think of reasons to do this, but it looked so inefficient.
They drooped as normal with flap selection and returned to neutral with flaps up on the taxi into ATL.

Can anybody shed any light?

Thanks

subsonic69
14th Jan 2009, 04:45
most probably it was trim.. you would not detect any yaw since it was already corrected by the 6-8 inches that you saw from the flaperon ( inboard aileron ) .

any other ideas ?? just in case I got it wrong.

cessna24
14th Jan 2009, 13:24
If the inboard aileron drooped with flap selection and then returned to neutral once the flaps returned to the up position, it could have been a little glitch in the system. But i seem to remember when reading a B767 maintenance manual that {this could be for something else} if the pilot selects aileron trim whilst the A/P is engaged, the aileron does not return to its correct unit. It fly's out of sync so to speak. It only resets its self once A/P has been disconnected.
I could have this wrong.
An interesting one though orion1210.

c24

airfoilmod
14th Jan 2009, 13:28
But Pitch, not Roll. Loaded tail, less drag, saves fuel.

NSEU
14th Jan 2009, 23:51