PDA

View Full Version : Singapore Cargo Problem

atlast
5th Jan 2009, 16:56
From Air Cargo News

SINGAPORE Airlines (SA) has offered its 300 cargo pilots up to 30 months’ unpaid leave due to the slump in air-freight demand.

“SIA Cargo needs to do all it can to contain costs,” said airline spokesman Stephen Forshaw.

The cargo unit made a loss of S$76 million (US$53 million) in the six months prior to September, compared with a S$19 million ($13 million) profit a year earlier. It operates 14 Boeing 747-400F freighters and uses capacity in its passenger aircraft bellyholds. Several of the freighters will be parked for at least the next three months.

Anyone got any specifics on this?

Kato747
6th Jan 2009, 13:08
Maybe you should look at the 3 or so other threads running already on this topic before posting a new one..????

Try looking on the South Asia and the Far East Forum ?????

You see........I'm a professional pilot, eager to help, discuss and contribute. :p

atlast
6th Jan 2009, 14:06
My apologies; I tend to only drift through Freight Dogs and the main page.
Have another handkerchief.

sisyphos
6th Jan 2009, 14:37
Kato747, why don't you get a life ? It is because of guys like you that browsing these pages turns out to be so unpleasant at times:rolleyes:

AAL
6th Jan 2009, 15:11
SIA Cargo was flying at rediclous low rates trying to bust and monopolise routes completely confusing and messing up certain sectors and the industry.

Its not a wonder that this has happened and I am not sorry, except for the personnel of course who are once again the victims.

You fly "too low" you going to crash!

Left Coaster
6th Jan 2009, 19:14
Just wondering how you get the cost issue out front before the trial has even started? Cargo will get their day in court just like BA and the others who were accused of price fixing...or did it happen already? Innocent until proven guilty..

Kato747
7th Jan 2009, 05:10