PDA

View Full Version : Lycoming TBO/extension.Who Decides?

MrAverage
3rd Dec 2008, 11:02
I've had 3 different answers as to the TBO for an AEIO360/200hp and whether or not a 10% or 20% extension is possible on Public Cat. It's a non EASA A/C. Who decides? Is it Lycoming or the CAA or the engineer concerned. As you can imagine I'm not an engineer!

matkat
3rd Dec 2008, 12:46
Very simple answer and it is this. The state of registration would have approved the maintenance programme which would have the agreed maintenance extensions contained within the manual/programme normally it is 10%.

ericferret
3rd Dec 2008, 13:08
Go to the CAA website and go to publications, look in airworthiness for CAP747 and in Section 5 Appendix 1 Generic Requirements GR 24.

Its 20%.

Thats the authority to extend. The actual application of the extension rests with your maintenance provider.

Flyingplanner
3rd Dec 2008, 14:19
It is definitely 20% and that applies to your engine TBO (1800hrs?) and 12 years since zero timed.

MrAverage
3rd Dec 2008, 14:41
Thanks everyone, but who decides the TBO? Is it that which is on the Lycoming website or is it decided by someone else?

Paradism
3rd Dec 2008, 14:47
MrAverage

You don't say what your interest is in this discussion, however, a few points to note from a QA viewpoint.

1. Whatever the AMO might say, it is the responsibility of the operator to ensure that all maintenance is properly performed, on-time and correctly recorded.

2. In order to assist you when asking for this sort of assistance, always request that primary source documents are identified. In this instance the most important is Lycoming Service Instruction Number 1009. Make sure that you ascertain that your AMO provides a copy of the latest Issue. I am now retired but the last issue I saw was 1009AS in 2006. Read the document very carefully as the type of operation can affect the final TBO figure.