PDA

View Full Version : Frog airplanes. Can you really trust them?...

sms777
30th Nov 2008, 05:31
I do know it has been a lot of media beat up about the recent Qantas incidents around the skies but if you look at the facts the largest percentage involved Airbuses. It has been involved in many controversial crashes since day one and i am getting very uncomfortable in travelling with airlines that operates them(to be honest i never really trusted them, all that fly by wire technology always worried me).
Now... I am a professional pilot and i have to live with it....but it is only a matter of time till the public wakes up to it and start to panic.
So... if you do fly one ....
Are you worried?... Be honest!

j3pipercub
30th Nov 2008, 05:35
If you are worried by fly by wire technology then I'd take the train, or a classic boeing, AFAIK all the NG Boeing gear is all fly by wire also, with no manual reversion.

j3

Hasselhof
30th Nov 2008, 05:40
Yeah, Qantas (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23036800-662,00.html) never has problems (http://www.crikey.com.au/Politics/20080211-Qantas-Boeing-damaged-in-hard-landing-in-Darwin.html) with its Boeing (http://www.news.com.au/story/0,,24094043-2,00.html) fleet (http://www.heraldnet.com/article/20080829/NEWS02/708299757/1010/BIZ01).

Airbus = EVIL!!!!

heywatchthis
30th Nov 2008, 06:04
I think you will find the NG's have manual reversion

Cypher
30th Nov 2008, 06:06
From my understanding the NG does have manual reversion on both elevator and ailerons

j3pipercub
30th Nov 2008, 06:36
Righto, sorry about that. So the 73NG has manual reversion, 777? Drealiner?

adsyj
30th Nov 2008, 06:59
Nothing wrong with the bus.

However the computers that fly them, wellll that is another story alltogether.

43Inches
30th Nov 2008, 07:00
This PDF page 20 has a graph on loss rates per aircraft type, produced by boeing but includes most jet types current to 2007.

http://www.boeing.com/news/techissues/pdf/statsum.pdf