PDA

View Full Version : Air Turks and Caicos

CHECHE
28th Nov 2008, 12:25
Hi all;

I'm a spanish pilot type rated in EMB120 and more than 500 H in type. Does anybody know if there are any expats pilots in Air Turks and Caicos.
Also I have read some threats about how life is over there but all post are to old.
Does any of you how life is at Trurk and Caicos??

Thanks,

PiratePilot
30th Nov 2008, 18:03
Hey,,,,,I work here in the TCI for ATC,,,,,send them ur resume,,,,,looking for Brasilla drivers,,,,,

FlyTCI
11th Dec 2008, 19:14
Guess nothing has changed since I left a couple of years ago:

Turks and Caicos Net News Online: Bringing the Turks and Caicos Islands to the World (http://www.tcinetnews.com/news-830--2-2---.html)

AAIGUY
12th Dec 2008, 18:54
Ahhh Lyndon... what a great gift .. seeing you shut down.

TCI proven to be the **** operation, it was in 99 and obviously still is now.:ok:

Carrier
13th Dec 2008, 14:08
Quote: "Initial reports were that this grounding was done under the authority of the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)."

When did the FAA become the aviation regulating agency for the Turks & Caicos Islands? Are all TCI based aircraft now N registered and are all TCI pilots and engineers now required to have FAA licences in order to work there?

It will be interesting to learn if the employees, particularly those taken over from SkyKing, continue to receive their pay as the grounding is not their fault.

Anyone know if this grounding is permanent or temporary? If the latter, then how long is it likely to be before they are back in the air? If an extensive time or permanent then are any other operators going to be serving the routes?

FlyTCI
13th Dec 2008, 16:16
It was a short lived grounding. They were back in the air after one day. From what I understand it was due to maintenance not being up to par. If you ask me there probably was more to it. Can't remember how many times CAA threatened to shut us down when I was there.