PDA

View Full Version : Gliding with a Boeing 737

Bluescan
2nd Nov 2008, 17:27
Hello everybody,

I've tried some searching around on the web, but not finding answares for my questions. As a glider pilot I'm a bit interested in how the airliners glide etc.

For a Boeing 737-700 with wing lets:
- What is the best L/D ratio?
- What are the best speeds for best L/D at given weights?

Would it be possible to save fuel, descending earlier at a lower speed?
Are there any requirements of how long an typical 737 engine has to run before max power (take-off)?

Sorry if there questions have been asked earlier, I'm new here...

Best regards,
Bluescan

BelArgUSA
2nd Nov 2008, 17:37
I do not have the 737 numbers for you -
xxx
For the 747-200 Classic - we are close to 20:1 ratio.
We could glide some 220 km from FL 360, assuming "no wind".
Typical glide speed would be some 200 KIAS.
I often mention the above to people who say that "jets glide like a brick"...
xxx
:D
Happy contrails

ix_touring
2nd Nov 2008, 18:02
jets glide like a brick"...

Its all relative, the first single seater (glider) I flew had a ratio of about 18:1 :sad: K-8 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schleicher_Ka_8)

The plastic twin seater I lfirst flew in had a ratio of 36:1 :) Grob 103 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G103_Twin_II)

As for a metal glider of 74 classic vintage, the Blanik (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LET_L-13) has a ratio of ca. 28:1. On a tangent, it also has forward swept wings...

iX

Denti
2nd Nov 2008, 18:45
The classic was somewhere cited to be around 1:22, the NG seems to be quite a bit better, its a goddamn gliderplane really, cant slow it or get down fast enough (glides too good), especially if heavy.

Learned to fly on an old Bergfalke 2, then Ka 8, Ka6 and ASW 15, the old stuff :) Sadly no time anymore to fly gliderplanes (except the NG of course).

stackedup
2nd Nov 2008, 20:09