PDA

View Full Version : Police Statements

WorkingHard
20th Oct 2008, 21:58
A question for all you knowledgeable people please?
I recently gave a voluntary statement to the police, who were very polite, correct and quite charming I should say, so I have no problem at all with that. What I do have a problem with is not being allowed to keep a copy of the statement made (I may be needed as a witness) and so I politely refused to sign the same until I was allowed to take a copy for my own retention. What ensued was not really satisfactory and I refused to sign the statement. Your views please on what is right and wrong learned people.

many thanks

preduk
20th Oct 2008, 22:01
WorkingHard,

If you want I can try and find out the answer for you, I'm a SC Police officer in training.

Champagne Anyone?
20th Oct 2008, 22:22
Beware the Specials answer...

Scottish law is different from England and Wales....

Most of the time when I was in the mob, if a witness asked for a copy they got it.

No problems as long as they were a witness and not suspected of being an offender. If that was the case, they would be told that they would be able to refresh their memory, should the case go to court, from their statement should the need arise prior to giving evedence.

If suspected as an offender you woldnt give them a chance to refresh their memories of the lies they might have concocted in order to profess their innocence.

Am house sitting for Champers so don't blame him for my posts....

Lost man standing
20th Oct 2008, 23:15
Watch this piece of advice (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-4097602514885833865) and take it seriously. I think you have the right attitude. In my opinion if someone wants some information they will not allow you to have then they are dishonest.

preduk
21st Oct 2008, 00:40
Ok.. I found out for you... There is a forum (similar to PPrune) for police officers so I could get an opinion from others.

The best response I got was: