PDA

View Full Version : PDA's - which and why?

GoneWest
15th Jul 2001, 06:19
I am coming to the conclusion that I need a small, simple, carry around "to do list" and/or appointments book.

Ah - remember the 'filofax' - yuppie tool of the future.

Well, the stores seem to be full of cute little electric critters these days - question is "Which one to buy"...answer is "What do you want it to do??"

Next question is "What are these things capable of doing?"

Is there anywhere to look at various specs of these machines? I asked in the local store and the best I got was that "the new one can scan bar codes"...but I don't want to scan bar codes (at the moment). So not a great sales pitch - but what functions should I be looking for...as well as "to do list" and a reminder that I should be somewhere else at the moment?

Mac the Knife
17th Jul 2001, 01:18
'Lo Gone - I'm not an expert, but someone discarded an elderly PalmPilot onto me last Xmas - at first I thought that it was an amusing toy, but now I don't know what I did without it.

I really don't believe that you need all the latest bells and whistles, like barcodes or Net access or 16MB RAM or colour screens - the core functions are the ones that you need rather than games and add-ons and all the PDAs have those. I think almost all can interface to your PC for backup and other stuff and you really need that.

I'd say the main choice is whether you want an actual keyboard (bigger) or whether you can live with screen tapping for data entry.

Why not get a Palm M100 for a start? It's the cheapest of the excellent Palm's, has all the core functions and if you want a proper keyboard or decide that you want to upgrade in 6/12 you'll have no trouble selling it.

Good luck!

straightenup
17th Jul 2001, 10:23
Im a junkie re these things palm is so simple and effective plenty of software ect