PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with a brain worm!


Windy Militant
4th Oct 2008, 09:59
I heard a track by the eighties band Big Sound Authority recently, not a problem with that a passable retro tune, the problem is it brought to mind a track from about the same time the hook line of which is now rattling around my head and the only way to get rid of it is to hear it all the way through. Trouble is I can't remember the name of the track or the band just the hook which is along the lines of
" Your everything I ever wanted for me, for sure for sure, now I've got every thing I ever wanted for me, for sure for sure," Help it's driving me bats :\

Can the Pprune professors of pop save me. :}

Before you ask I've tried web searches but whatever combination I try entering it, I get Gary effin Barlow and Girls shouldn't be allowed:ugh:

landy01
4th Oct 2008, 12:49
Windy, went through songlyrics.com and put the lyrics in the search engine and came up with the following list :eek: -

Song matches
Ina - I Wanted You (http://www.songlyrics.com/ina/i-wanted-you/276865/)
Ramones - I Wanted Everything (http://www.songlyrics.com/ramones/i-wanted-everything/59465/)
The Ramones - I Wanted Everything (http://www.songlyrics.com/the-ramones/i-wanted-everything/197890/)
POWERMAN 5000 - Danger Is Go! (http://www.songlyrics.com/powerman-5000/danger-is-go/92147/)
Terri Clark - Not What I Wanted To Hear (http://www.songlyrics.com/terri-clark/not-what-i-wanted-to-hear/146707/)
Terri Clark - Last Thing I Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/terri-clark/last-thing-i-wanted/146928/)
Bob Dylan - What Was It You Wanted? (http://www.songlyrics.com/bob-dylan/what-was-it-you-wanted/194312/)
Etheridge Melissa - If I Wanted To (http://www.songlyrics.com/etheridge-melissa/if-i-wanted-to/68815/)
Melissa Etheridge - If I Wanted To (http://www.songlyrics.com/melissa-etheridge/if-i-wanted-to/224073/)
Bob Dylan - What Was It You Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/bob-dylan/what-was-it-you-wanted/194301/)
Dylan Bob - What Was It You Wanted? (http://www.songlyrics.com/dylan-bob/what-was-it-you-wanted/203798/)
Dannii Minogue - Everything I Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/dannii-minogue/everything-i-wanted/15584/)
IDLEWILD - Out of routine (http://www.songlyrics.com/idlewild/out-of-routine/96933/)
Brad Paisley - All I Wanted Was A Car (http://www.songlyrics.com/brad-paisley/all-i-wanted-was-a-car/261210/)
IDLEWILD - I never wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/idlewild/i-never-wanted/96997/)
SARAH BRIGHTMAN - Free"(feat. Nigel Kennedy (http://www.songlyrics.com/sarah-brightman/freefeat-nigel-kennedy/225843/)
Sarah Brightman - Free (S.A.F. & Nemo Mixes) (http://www.songlyrics.com/sarah-brightman/free-saf-nemo-mixes/244465/)
Vanessa Carlton - More Than Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/vanessa-carlton/more-than-wanted/105212/)
Anything Box - Our Dreams (http://www.songlyrics.com/anything-box/our-dreams/117711/)
Glenn Lewis - Only Be In Love (http://www.songlyrics.com/glenn-lewis/only-be-in-love/173389/)
Mariah Carey - All I've Ever Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/mariah-carey/all-ive-ever-wanted/213014/)
Carey Mariah - All I've Ever Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/carey-mariah/all-ive-ever-wanted/10914/)
Johnny Cash - Wanted Man (http://www.songlyrics.com/johnny-cash/wanted-man/173421/)
White Town - Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/white-town/wanted/100852/)
Destroyers - Wanted Man (http://www.songlyrics.com/destroyers/wanted-man/265643/)
Dylan Bob - Wanted Man (http://www.songlyrics.com/dylan-bob/wanted-man/203551/)
Roy Hamilton - You Can Have Her (http://www.songlyrics.com/roy-hamilton/you-can-have-her/172398/)
Bangles, The - Everything I Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/bangles-the/everything-i-wanted/10122/)
Slipknot - The Nameless (http://www.songlyrics.com/slipknot/the-nameless/249506/)
Santana - All I Ever Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/santana/all-i-ever-wanted/66312/)
Ben Lee - Sex Without Love (http://www.songlyrics.com/ben-lee/sex-without-love/265757/)
Kittie - What I Always Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/kittie/what-i-always-wanted/103233/)
Kittie - What I Always Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/kittie/what-i-always-wanted/103731/)
Cash Johnny - Wanted Man (http://www.songlyrics.com/cash-johnny/wanted-man/17201/)
Hot Hot Heat - My Best Fiend (http://www.songlyrics.com/hot-hot-heat/my-best-fiend/266183/)
Leonard Cohen - Is This What You Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/leonard-cohen/is-this-what-you-wanted/184170/)
Sister Hazel - Wanted It To Be (http://www.songlyrics.com/sister-hazel/wanted-it-to-be/135535/)
Cranberries - Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/cranberries/wanted/186396/)
Cranberries - Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/cranberries/wanted/186626/)
Cranberries - Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/cranberries/wanted/186636/)
The Cranberries - Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/the-cranberries/wanted/184678/)
Charlatans Uk - Can't Get Out Of Bed (http://www.songlyrics.com/charlatans-uk/cant-get-out-of-bed/27103/)
Cohen Leonard - Is This What You Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/cohen-leonard/is-this-what-you-wanted/146897/)
Charlatans Uk - Can't Get Out Of Bed (http://www.songlyrics.com/charlatans-uk/cant-get-out-of-bed/27372/)
Moe's Kitchen - But I Want You (http://www.songlyrics.com/moes-kitchen/but-i-want-you/186372/)
Wade Hayes - If I Wanted To Forget (http://www.songlyrics.com/wade-hayes/if-i-wanted-to-forget/138874/)
Stina Nordenstam - Little Star (http://www.songlyrics.com/stina-nordenstam/little-star/232504/)
Stina Nordenstam - Little Star (http://www.songlyrics.com/stina-nordenstam/little-star/232520/)
Mariah Carey - All I've Ever Wanted (http://www.songlyrics.com/mariah-carey/all-ive-ever-wanted/214287/)
Dishwalla - Every Little Thing (http://www.songlyrics.com/dishwalla/every-little-thing/131592/)

Not sure which song your after but hopefully these help:ok:

Alex

Windy Militant
4th Oct 2008, 13:29
Landy01 Thanks for that. :ok: Alas none of those are what I'm after. :(
I suspect it was a radio hit here in the UK that never went on to make the charts. I guess I'll have to keep looking!

Halfbaked_Boy
4th Oct 2008, 14:25
You, sir, are a complete fecker - "All I ever wanted for me" etc etc... I'll be straight with you right away, I don't know the name of the song or who it's by, but I know EXACTLY what song you mean! And I remember hearing it in the distant past and thinking what a great song! Alas, Google has thus far been unfruitful for me, and I am normally very good at finding songs from only their lyrics on there... =/

Jack

Windy Militant
4th Oct 2008, 15:35
Mr Baked, It's been driving me mad for days and neither google or the tubular site has been of any help. At least I've now found confirmation that the song exists and it's not a figbox of my tortured imagination. :\

BlueDiamond
4th Oct 2008, 15:58
Wasn't there one by Gary Glitter that went something like that?? :confused: Not really sure, just one of those niggle-in-the-back-of-the-mind things ...

Windy Militant
4th Oct 2008, 17:25
I should have said it was a soul Funk type thing with a girl lead singer similar to BSA, which is why it triggered the memory. :O

visibility3miles
4th Oct 2008, 17:42
YouTube - Charlotte Gainsbourg - Everything I Cannot See (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JZGYtv9C70)
Not soul funk by a long shot, but perhaps:
Charlotte Gainsbourg - Everything I Cannot See

Are you sure it isn't Mariah Carey?
YouTube - Mariah Carey - All I've Ever Wanted (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3i0y7wegPwo)

Girls Aloud - Everything You Ever Wanted*
YouTube - "Everything You Ever Wanted" - Girls Aloud (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdKU9mA_4aw)
YouTube - Broadcast Yourself. (http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=girl%27s+aloud+everything&search_type=&aq=f)

* Or is that what you meant by "Girls shouldn't be allowed :ugh:"

Halfbaked_Boy
4th Oct 2008, 18:41
Hmm, none of those, at least not the song I'm thinking of. I hope to God somebody finds it, otherwise this is going to be one of those ongoing things for my brain to try and work out... :eek:The only other way I can think of describing it is as more '80s' than songs currently mentioned... hmm

Windy Militant
4th Oct 2008, 18:45
It was out about 1984 or 1985 so Definitely not Mariah Carey or the Wags from the x factor. It was a Soul funk mod power pop type combo that were bubbling under at the end of the New romantic era.

visibility3miles
4th Oct 2008, 20:51
Fruits of Passion - Everything I Ever Wanted

YouTube - Fruits Of Passion - Everything I Ever Wanted (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkVy98AzpNY)

YouTube - Fruits of Passion - All I Ever Wanted - 1985 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uME5_NKn7qc&feature=related)

Now get it out of my head!

Windy Militant
4th Oct 2008, 21:08
You Beauty, spot on. Pprune to the rescue once again. :ok::ok: