PDA

View Full Version : BA Suspends Flights to Pakistan

TiiberiusKirk
21st Sep 2008, 23:15
BBC News says BA is suspending flights to Pakistan following Bombing.

At least they did a minute ago in the ticker-tape... said "more soon" ... not seen it repeated for a few minutes.

apaddyinuk
22nd Sep 2008, 00:41
Yeah its true. Last flight left ISB this morning with the outbound crew positioning home on it. No more crew in ISB now!

mutt
22nd Sep 2008, 06:48
We had 6 crew injured in the bombing, 4 flight deck and 2 cabin (NOT BA)... So I'm not surprised that airlines are suspending layovers or flights.

Mutt

Poof in Boots
22nd Sep 2008, 09:27
What airline is that Mutt?

BA flights temporarily suspended.

rebellion
22nd Sep 2008, 11:51
A Saudi crew was in the hotel.

Hope they all get better.

angels
23rd Sep 2008, 08:48
Just an update, BA have now cancelled all flights to Islamabad indefinitely.

I'm no expert, but I would say Pakistan would be quite profitable for BA so this won't help in the current situation if that's the case.

Artificial Horizon
23rd Sep 2008, 11:00
It may be profitable but considering the crew were staying within the vicinity of this bombing I think that it is the only sensible decision. Money should not get in the way of protecting your crews. Good for you BA.:ok:

viktor inox
24th Sep 2008, 07:01
LH are still flying FRA - LHE 3x weekly. Wonder how their risk assessment differs from that of BA?

xplorer
24th Sep 2008, 09:33
I think for any company, passanger and crew safety should be priority.... putting profits ahead of safety, i dont think so... many have taken a gamble with the whole profit over human life (whether passanger or crew)idea, and they've come crashing down!:=

angels
24th Sep 2008, 10:30
To put things straight, I wasn't criticising BA's decision in any way. I was just speculating that it was a profitable route and was wondering if it would have any impact on them.