PDA

View Full Version : The garbage you can find on YouTube ...

radarlove
11th Sep 2008, 17:57
I am astounded by the amount of aviation footage one can find on YouTube. However, I am not as astounded by YouTube itself.

I have just been 'abused' by someone claiming to be a YouTube employee ...

Does anyone remember the A320 crash back in 198?, The local club aero-club, at Mulhouse-Habsheim, had organised a slow flyby of the brand new Airbus A320 - but it all went horribly wrong and ended up in the trees at the end of the runway - killing 3 passengers. Many of the passengers had won their seats in a local lottery.

The 'so-called' official monitor/employee who posted the grainy French TV footage claims that "the A380 was piloted by computer and there was no crew onboard".

Naturally, I felt the urge to put him right on a few points. His reply was both obnoxious and ill-informed "What passengers? A lottery? What are you talking about? I am a pilot!"

I then posted the link to the Air Accident Investigation and suggested he got an adult to read it to him.

No doubt the little twerp will be back ...

In the meantime, please feel free to visit YouTube - Airbus A320 Plane Crash (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=_EM0hDchVlY&feature=email)

and follow the exploits of CF18FirstOfficerJoe ...

dany4kin
11th Sep 2008, 18:56
First of all there is no way that guy is a youtube employee!

Also, the sheer amount of stuff on youtube with incorrect comments will keep you tapping away forever trying to correct people. The comments move off the screen, noone bothers to read the descriptions and it goes on and on and on...

try YouTube - "Sultans of Swing" cover Dire Straits (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=lQM6L-6e9Qk) for a bit of pprune style video! Drapes agrees!

That airbus video is on sites with some American 'air accident investigation' type commentary and the whole pilots/no pilots thing goes on for ages simply because the commentary is misleading because the clip is so short.