PDA

View Full Version : Online shop - Pilot supplies

sfakman
5th Sep 2008, 09:21
Hello,

I'm in the middle of doing my PPL, have a huge interest in Aviation and my background is the web.

I'd love to start an online shop selling pilot supplies but I'm a little stuck. I'm fine with setting up the everything online but my real issue is finding suppliers.

Does anyone have any advice on setting up online shops? I thought maybe Drop Shipping could be the way but there doesn't seem to be much out there for the Aviation Industry.

Your help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Georgio

Saab Dastard
5th Sep 2008, 11:33
A word of advice - don't ever try to promote it on PPRuNe.

SD

Whirlygig
5th Sep 2008, 12:25
SD, surely if he pays for the advertising, he can promote his online shop on Pprune?

I can think of four online aviation shops - are you sure there's a market? They all sell the same stuff at pretty much the same price!!

Cheers

Whirls

Kerosine
5th Sep 2008, 12:40
I imagine it would be a very hard market to break into, you would need some kind of unique selling point, something different that the consumer would be drawn to. Bear in mind the likes of Transair can benefit from economies of scale and can squeeze the margins/offer deals and specials to attract business. The above mentioned company along with a few others have their fingers in all pies; mail orders, catalogues, stores, online shops etc, not much room left...

Sorry to be so pessimistic about the prospects but as a consumer there's no real reason to deviate from market leaders :ouch:

sfakman
5th Sep 2008, 12:48
Actually, it's really good to get your feedback on this sort of thing. I often just jump in to stuff without doing the research only to find I wasted time.