PDA

View Full Version : Can I knock me house down?

26th Aug 2008, 23:44
Been searching for info on 'net regarding ins and outs of demolishing one's small old, cold, crumbling, ugly detached home (with a view to a rebuild) and can find nothing. (I'm not very good at searching 'net).

Would appreciate any pointers to sites or first hand experience.

Many thanks

Regards

con-pilot
26th Aug 2008, 23:57
Can I knock me house down?

Not to worry, I'll send my youngest son over and he'll knock it down accidentally. :p

redsnail
27th Aug 2008, 00:02
You live on a corner?

Spray the road with some water and wait for the rev head to lose it. :ok:

Avitor
27th Aug 2008, 00:06
I think you should first contact the planning department at your LA. Move on from there.
I would strongly advise you not to proceed until you have. They hold details of every property in their area and need to know of any changes.
You would, most certainly be breaking planning law to go ahead without consulting them.

27th Aug 2008, 01:04
Con-pilot - OK will PM address - but please advise it has to be demolished quietly.

Red - don't live on a corner - I live in the actual house - thanks anyway.

Avitor - thanks

Regards

G-CPTN
27th Aug 2008, 01:28
The smart way is to construct the replacement (either inside or outside the existing structure) then simply remove the original fabric.
A work colleague did precisely that (in Balsall Common) and converted a temporary prefabricated dwelling into a more substantial (structurally and dimensionally) building.
Apparently, after a period of seven years (unchallenged) the local authority cannot do anything to enforce compliance . . .

There was a recent case of a farmer who constructed a (substantial) dwelling shielded by stacks of straw bales. In due time he removed the straw . . .