PDA

View Full Version : USB External Modems.

Mango3
1st Nov 2001, 18:46
Are these any better than an internal modem? I'm using a laptop with USB ports. The unit came with an internal modem, but I was suckered in to purchase an external. Although I've switched between the two types, I've not noticed any real difference in speeds. I'm running XP on a 56K USB unit. I have to travel lightly, so I'm a little anti regarding an external modem that uses 240V for power. Any one out there that has 'run the modem gaunlet' like I have? Should I discard the external unit for the internal? Thanks in advance.

okeydokey
1st Nov 2001, 19:52
Mango,
I'm no expert but it's my understanding that in general externals are better. In essence externals are hardware based and much more reliable than internals which are usually software based modems.
I'm afraid I can't offer much more detail than this but I have seen an internal 'hardware based' modem on the market (In Aus ;) ) . For the life of me I can't remember the brand (it wasn't uncommon) but I wish I had one myself, my internal, however cheap, has been a hassle.
Maybe other PPRUNErs can elaborate on what I'm trying to say.
Cheers. :D

Mac the Knife
3rd Nov 2001, 00:52
First a bit of elementary (self-taught) modemics.

Proper modems have two main pieces of hardware inside
A data-pump and a controller
Your PC has little extra work to do
Expensive, usually external, reliable

WinModems only have a data-pump
Your PC has to do the control processing in the background
Cheaper, but extra work for the PC/CPU/bus
Becoming the norm. Can be OK in matched system.
Usually internal, can be external.

Soft WinModems have nothing much inside
Your PC has to imitate the work of the data-pump
and the controller all in software. A lot of extra work
for the CPU/bus. A few about. Very cheap.
Usually internal.