PDA

View Full Version : The REAL 'Mr Wessex'........

Dundiggin'
28th Jul 2008, 20:01
Does anyone out there remember M Plt Taff Walker? What a character! A lovely Welsh chappie. Always with a pipe in his mouth. Deaf as a post! Always shouted! Possibly the last operational Master Pilot in the RAF. When he finally retired Air Clues had a photo of him on the front page as a tribute. The very end of an era....does anyone know how he got on in retirement? Someone out there must have some stories about 'Taff'...........

ShyTorque
28th Jul 2008, 21:09
Taff was an Wessex OCU QHI at Odiham when I went through the Puma course about thirty years ago. I remember him as a grumpy old ...... but nice enough when you got to know him a bit better. His yellow labrador seemed to be his constant companion in those days. He used to play up the deafness a little, to his advantage. I believe that it's true that he was the RAF's last NCO pilot.

NutLoose
29th Jul 2008, 02:23
I was an engineer on the OCU then, he went as a Ground Instructor to Bristows on retirement from the RAF?

He was presented with a stunning Silver Wessex on his retirement I believe... Brought some of his logbooks in to read which were amazing from the war.... I remember at an open day walking across the apron with him and he pointed to a MK19 Spitfire and said, "last time I saw one of those it was on the Secret List Laddie"

extpwron
29th Jul 2008, 07:41
Back in the late 60’s Taff taught me everything I’ve now forgotten about the Wessex.

A story attributed to him went something like this:

Young ATC cadet, “I thought the lowest rank you could be to pilot an aircraft in the RAF was Pilot Officer?”

Taff Walker, “It is Laddie.”

Fareastdriver
29th Jul 2008, 07:49
I know this is true because it was in the Aldergrove SH detachment line book.
The younger aircrew are discussing their loss of virginity. Somebody turned to Taff and said.
"Do you remember the first time you had it?"