PDA

View Full Version : Future of the US Airline Industry

flightknight
24th Jul 2008, 04:09
Please contribute your prediction of the future of the US airline industry. What do you think it will look like in the year 2015. ?

Job cuts mount at US airlines (http://www.flightglobal.com/articles/2008/07/23/225918/job-cuts-mount-at-us-airlines.html)

BelArgUSA
6th Aug 2008, 17:25
Flightknight -
Nothing good ahead... and anyway, nothing like it was in the good old days.
xxx
I have been flying for airlines since 1969... and these were the best days in the industry. Now retiring in 3 months, and frankly, however I was an enthusiast for my pilot career, I have no regrets leaving for retirement. And having been through the worst of airline furloughs/layoff periods and airline bankruptcies from OCT 1973 through this era... I would not dream about being 25 years old and be an airline pilot again.
xxx
When interviewed and hired by PanAm in 1968, I was told that the airline would have 25 B-747s, another order for 25 would come soon, and Boeing SSTs and Concordes... and probably be captain 727 within 5 years or so... luxury cars and nice house in Malibu or Miami Biscayne Bay. It did never materialize. Starting OCT 1973, was the war that triggered OPEC start of oil blackmail. Then it became the era of de-regulation and airline bankruptcies or consolidations. I survived thanks to PanAm's assistance in recommending me for positions overseas (often horrible places) with 2 weeks at home, every 2 or 3 months or so.
xxx