PDA

View Full Version : Bush flying in australia

pilotkiruba
19th Jul 2008, 22:57
hi,
i'm an indian trainee pilot with 120 hrs in newzealand. i would like to be a bush pilot in australia once i get CPL.
can somebody help me with some info on the requirements and oppurtunities in australia??

thanks and regards,

kirubakaran

solowflyer
20th Jul 2008, 00:44
You will find plenty of threads on this site about the subject if you run a search. Having said that the only real way to do this is head over to oz, convert your NZ CPL, get the relevent endorsments for the type of flying you want to do (eg low level and mustering or NVFR and DG) and hit the trail Knocking on doors. Most of these jobs are not usually advertised. The north of WA is usually the first port of call for most to get a foot in the door.

Tinstaafl
20th Jul 2008, 04:06
Before anything else:

Do you have the right (or approval) to live & work in Australia?

Buster Hyman
20th Jul 2008, 04:11
120 hours in New Zealand. That's like 10 minutes everywhere else right?:confused:

;):p:}:ouch::suspect:

BBN RADAR
20th Jul 2008, 07:38
Other than the North of WA, the other hot-spots at the moment seem to be Darwin and Cairns/FNQ. Not sure about down south....?

Do a search on here and google and find some company names and then send them an email with your C.V. and intentions of getting CPL. Most of them probably won't reply - give those ones a phone call.

Would think the hardest part will be obtaining permission (visas etc.) to work here, but that may have changed since Pilots were placed on skills shortage list by the government recently.

cjam
20th Jul 2008, 07:56
1/ Fly to Darwin
2/ Visit each GA outfit and give them a copy of your CV (2 pages max)
3/ Go to Jabaru, do same there
4/ Go back to Darwin, do follow up visit of each place then go to backpackers on mitchell st and drink 14 beers.
5/ Check notice board of backpackers for two sweedish chicks wanting someone to share gas money to Kunnanarra.