View Full Version : Miles M.52

Noah Zark.
6th Jul 2008, 09:51
I don't know whether this is in the right forum. If not, perhaps the Mods would be kind enough to re-direct it.
I am not a professional, only a long-in-the-tooth enthusiast! I have just watched (again!) a documentary about the events leading up to the breaking of the Sound Barrier, and the thought occured, knowing what is known now about aerodynamics, engines, etc., would the Miles M.52 have done the job had it not been cancelled?
Any opinions appreciated.
Thanks. N.Z.

bigal1941
6th Jul 2008, 18:52
Since the Bell X1A, which supposedly was the first aircraft to break the sound barrier deliberately, was to all and intents and purpose, a copy of the Miles M52, albeit rocket powered rather than by jet propulsion, I would say most definatly yes. The story is told in "Project Cancelled" by Derek Wood ISBN number 0 7106 0441 6. Hope this helps, Alan

LowObservable
6th Jul 2008, 20:39
Hate to be the wet blanket, but probably not, with the jet engine technology of the day. The US made it with air launch and rocket power, but the UK lacked a carrier aircraft or a place to do it, and was making no plans to build a manned rocket-powered version of the M.52.

That said - and in spite of many illustrious historians - I remain very impressed by the fact that key features of the M.52 - bullet-shaped body, all-moving tail and thin wing - were echoed by the XS-1 and were not adopted by Bell until after NACA knew about the M.52.

John Farley
6th Jul 2008, 21:19
I think the M52 could have coped with the stability and control issues re going supersonic (because of the features you mentioned)

As to the thrust issue why not do it down hill?

BOAC
6th Jul 2008, 21:40
I believe it was also one of the first to plan to use reheat (a/b for 'them':))? I recall the pilot was to sit in the intake..............:eek: a bit like that there French thing the ?'Coleoptre'? (sp?)

Dan Winterland
7th Jul 2008, 01:56