PDA

View Full Version : PPL exam pre-requisites

KrustyThePilot
27th Jun 2008, 03:26
Hi All,

I’m a student pilot going through 150 hours CPLA course.
I don’t plan to go up to CPL (yet). My goal is PPL.

I’ve done my BAK and very close to my GFPT. (GFPT is not done yet)

My question is - Can I sit my PPL theory exam at this point?

The Day VFR Syllabus is not quite clear on this (for me)
It says
”2.8.2.
(a) …
(b) A student pilot must have commenced cross-country training and passed the BAK examination before
he/she may be credited with a pass in CASA PPLA theory examination (where applicable).”

What does that mean?
Does it mean I have to commence my Nav exercises before sitting the exam or I can sit the exam now but it will be taken into account as soon as I start my NavEx?

Thanks,
KTP

jbr76
27th Jun 2008, 03:58
Yes you need to have completed at least 1 navex prior to sitting the PPL(a) cyber exam.

Normally, schools will get you to complete your PPL(a) cyber exam prior to going on your first solo Nav, which is around Nav #4.

Each school's internal training structure differs, so I would talk to your instructor about it.

But in a nutshell, yes you must have started cross country training prior to the exam.

It is very similar to when you are wishing to complete your CPL subjects too. There are certain subjects which you cannot sit exams for unless you have accrued at least 5hours PIC cross country flight time, if you are going from BAK to CPL without completing the PPL(a) cyber exam.

The Day VFR Syllabus is your friend ... read it thoroughly.

KrustyThePilot
27th Jun 2008, 11:34
Thanks for the answer.
I guess I'll have to wait with the exam a bit. :rolleyes:

Cheers,
KTP

YPJT
27th Jun 2008, 11:50