PDA

View Full Version : F-4 phantom restoration

xxpillxx
10th Jun 2008, 00:53
Lets start of by telling you a little about me and my cousin. I am a pilot and he is a mechanic in the airforce. We wanted to do a fighter jet restoration and the fastest jet we could restore was an f-4 phantom II. We talked to some people higher in command about where we could get the parts. We were told we could get the parts from an old bonyard. we went there and god most of the parts but we still need seats, flaps and landing gear along with some other small pieces. We plan to have it done in about 2 years as we dont have much time away from the military. The f-4 should be able to fly at about mach 2 when finished. I will keep you up to date as we get things put together. Anyways tell us what you think about our restoration.

dakkg651
10th Jun 2008, 08:23
Sounds Fantastic.

Get an F4, bolt on a few missing bits and then go flying at Mach two. Wow!

Perhaps if you can spare a couple of days to pop over here, you can bolt a couple of bits on to our C47 so I can go flying in her.

PS. Can you tell me which Air Force you fly for. I want an immediate transfer.

ZH875
10th Jun 2008, 08:51
Well, me and my second cousin twice removed have found a piece of an XB-70, and we have also found a way to grow small bits of metal into full size aircraft panels, but it is a slow process.

We are very busy in our council work, so can only allocate 10 minutes per day. That said, we have set a target date of 25 December 2475 for the maiden flight. My second cousin twice removed is training to fly the XB-70 using a pc and Microsoft Flight Simulator.

Is this program good enough for this task, and will he be ready by 12/25/2475, or will we need to postpone the flight.

We are looking for a second pilot for this project, but they must have previous XB-70 experience, or failing that, at least 100 hours in a Cessna C-72.