PDA

View Full Version : What should I do next?

BeechBaron58
5th Jun 2008, 17:40
Hello Everyone,

I am completely new to this forum, so forgive me for any mistakes I make.

I am really keen on becoming a commercial pilot, but there are a few questions I have.

I am just finishing my GCSE's. Only 4 exams left!

I have chosen my A levels and they are; Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Geography.

What should I do now or after my A levels? Is it on to pilot school or do i do a degree at university? Someone has told me to do aerospace at the Imperial College. I really am confused.

Any help/advice would be apprecciated.

adsSW
5th Jun 2008, 18:31
Completely your choice.....you have two routes of where you can go.

I will tell you what I did, I left school at 16 with 11 1/2 GCSEs all at A and A*. Started A- Levels and hated it, so.... I dropped out!! Worked in a restaurant full time as a waiter, after 6 months I was supervising and after another 6 months I was a restaurant manager, at 17. At 18 I applied for the police and at 19 I started training.

I have applied for the Etihad scheme, because I am not prepared to pay around £70,000 for training, and then risk not getting a job, and then if I do, get a crap starting salary.

Most of my mates did their A-levels, and are now finishing degrees. They are all in a lot of debt, around £20,000 each. They have little work experience and most of them are now wondering what the hell to do as a career.

So your choices are that you do the best you can at GCSE, do A-levels, then a degree, then you can apply to a flight training school and pay for the training. Remember you will not be paid during the training, so you are looking at not getting a proper full time salary for the next seven years at least, and paying for ATPL training.

Or, you can start working, getting life experience, making money etc etc And then apply when you are ready, with no debt.