PDA

View Full Version : Specs to run FS2000, FU3, Fly

airwave
9th Sep 2000, 10:36
Hope someone can be patient with a total novice on advice regarding what specs I should look for when purchasing a new PC to run FS2000, Flight Unlimited 3 and Fly. Can these be successfully installed together or will they use so much memory that I can only run one or two? I am looking for some reasonablly high continuity in the video frames to give a realistic experience.
Many thanks Airwave

MrBernoulli
9th Sep 2000, 13:46
You really want to read the recommended requirements on the sides of the boxes that contain these programs. Then get the best PC that you can afford above and beyond the minimum required.

Alternatively, try the myriad of simulator websites - there are LOADS out there. Suggest you kick-off with:
http://www.microsoft.com/games/fs2000/

spannersatcx
10th Sep 2000, 13:26
Nothing less than a 750mhz CPU with 128mb ram, very large HDD >=20gb and a 32mb 3d card. You can unstall all on the same machine no problem.

Bokkerijder
10th Sep 2000, 14:20
I've got a P166 MMX and 48 MB RAM (just the minimum requirements) and FS2000 flies like cr@p !
I admit that I meet the MINIMUM requirements, but I think it's very misleading that this FS does not work properly on these minimum requirements.
As far as hard-disk space is concerned Microsoft is LYING on the box cover !

On my box it says : "350 MB of available hard-disk space, 365 MB recomended"

During installation I found out that the real requirement is about 875 MB ! Quite a bit more....
I can install it with 'only' 425 MB, but that makes FS2000 even slower than it already is !

I am thinking of getting an AMD 700, 128 MB RAM and a GeForce 256 32MB video card in a few weeks time, so I'll let everyone know how that works.

------------------
¡ Yo quiero Taco Bell !

InFinRetirement
10th Sep 2000, 23:37