PDA

View Full Version : Well here we go.....

belongins
7th May 2008, 19:08
Hi everyone - awesome forum BTW :)

I have a question regarding finance

I ahve searched long and hard and found some really great threads but i still ahve this remianing question so here goes.

I am a research physicist working for a global defence company. I clear around £1800 pcm.

However I have always loved flying and actually flew solo in a motor glider with the ATC. Somewhere i have become 'side tracked!'

No matter i am back on path now and have embarked on a life and career changing experience courtesy of CTC. I have just paid £175 for phase II.

I understand that students get the ~60k bond via a bank loan but how do people 'finance' the rest. I mean you cant just take out £1800pcm from the fmaily coffers and not notice it right?

I believe that my wife and I will 'miss' my lovely £1800 pcm for around 2 years. Apart from being made redundant I dont see how this is possible.

Please can people let me know how they have managed it.

All the best
Barry

ix_touring
7th May 2008, 19:58
Slight side track but isn't 34 too old for CTC? (are you on a sponsered route or self funded/mod type route)?

iX

Kerosine
7th May 2008, 21:42
34 isn't too old for CTC, no. One my stage 2 there was some in there early/mid 30s. Can't remember their age exactly.

Maybe your best bet is to live like a bit of a hermit whilst your doing the assessments Lol, that rings true for me. Made only one social event in the month prior to S2 :D

Kerosine
7th May 2008, 22:54
Can always party with you guys over in Hamilton

Sounds like a plan!

By the way, change your location DJ! I'm sure you're a nice guy deep down ;)

poss
8th May 2008, 07:52
You can also take a personal loan ontop of upto 10k to help with living costs.
"(Arrogant Cuntox apparently)" Anyone with a point of view on this forum is likely to get called something similar to this :p.

belongins
8th May 2008, 08:31