PDA

View Full Version : Ex Pat To AUSTRALIA or NZ?

RetroFire
1st May 2008, 22:33
I'm a US airline pilot thinking that I might enjoy flying in the Australia/New Zealand area. Any opportunities or demand for us Yanks w/Qantas or Air NZ or others? Pay and terms OK? Cost of living high/low? Never been there, but looks like a good locale.

Kenny
2nd May 2008, 00:02
Got to be a wind up!!!

RetroFire
2nd May 2008, 00:07
What's a wind up?

Kenny
2nd May 2008, 00:24
OK I'll save you the trouble of being verbally beaten up and chastised by my more militant countrymen. Here goes.......

"I'm a US airline pilot thinking that I might enjoy flying in the Australia/New Zealand area"

Well great but it might be an idea to see what would be required to move to another country, with the right to work and live there. Being an American I'm sure you're aware that it is not that painless to move to the US in order to fly and live there. Why would you think it's any different in Australia?

"Any opportunities or demand for us Yanks"

No more than anywhere else in the world......

"w/Quantas or Air NZ or others?"

Oh dear, where to start with this one? Well first, it would be to your advantage as far as being taken more seriously if you had worked out that the National Airline of Australia is actually called QANTAS. It's an acronym, google it.

"Pay and terms OK?"

You'll be told by others that there's a search function, try it and see what you find.

"Cost of living high/low?"

Again you'll find more than a couple of web sites that will give you a good idea about the cost of living in Australia.

"Never been there, but looks like a good locale"

You might want to actually visit somewhere you'd like to move to.

I'm guessing a regional pilot with either Mesa, Skywest or Shutubqua??

Ralph the Bong
2nd May 2008, 00:56
Hi Retro,

Look mate, dont worry about the wind-up merchants. There are plenty in Australia; it's a national sport.