PDA

View Full Version : Just Another Wanabee...

MrBrightside
23rd Apr 2008, 23:31
So here we go again, perhaps...

Hi, Im MrBrightside and I am a wanabee commercial airline pilot...

My story, probably like many others on this forum, is as follows. I am currently in my last year of A-level education with my final exam in June. I made the decision last year that Uni, despite it's obvious querks, wasn't for me. So where does that leave me after school... hmm good question and one that has captivated my mind for months now. I have looked/researched into many possible options available to me but none of them have really jumped out and said "pick me" (figuretively speaking).

My initial decision was to perhaps work for a year (I currently work in Tesco... woop woop) and save much needed cash for my voyage ahead, but my parents take a different view on this. They believe that partaking in training straight away would be much more beneficial for me. With the current economic climate looking, well, not too good I believe that doing training may be wiser over a longer period of time i.e modular route, maybe with ppl/hour building done in US. (personal opinion). I suppose what I am really getting at is if you guys were to put yorselves into my shoes, so to speak, what would you do? Of course this is ultimatly my decision but I believe seeing things from someone else's perspective may help.

Thank you in advance
MB

AlphaMale
24th Apr 2008, 00:01
Plenty of people in your shoes. I'm sure if you read threads where wannabes are asking for financial advice you'll see WWW giving some very good information.

How old are you?

If I was 21 and had saved £7k (from Tesco) I'd get a class 1 medical (to see if my dream can become a reality - No Class 1 = No CPL = No Job).