PDA

View Full Version : I have a degree in Computing Science

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!
19th Apr 2008, 18:46
:8

...but I got it in 1981 :}

I was just reading up on CAPTCHAs and it made me realise how much this field has grown in the past ... erm ... fark me, 27 years :{

There was no internet, no email, I don't even think there were PCs. We studied COBOL and Pascal, Grammar and I think we studied architecture a little.

But the funniest thinng is that my career (and I use that term loosely) ended up being on mainframe computers, so I'm essentially using the same technology now, TSO, JCL, COBOL etc that I was back then :eek:

batninth
20th Apr 2008, 15:34
Mr A,

I got my degree in Computer Science in 1982 so I'm obviously much, much more up-to-date than you. :) Where I do disagree is over e-mail, we were using it back then largely to organise visits to the pub.

What gets me is how we see the same things coming around time & again in our business, but every time they're heralded as the great new hope.

Today people go on about the different flavours of Linux, some talk of a single unified Linux distribution. It was Unix System 7 & BSD back then, then we got into System 5 and the big "Open Systems" debate - OSF/1 etc, and all the talk of unification. It didn't happen then & it most likely won't now.

We also had the big "micro-kernel" debate (OSF/1 again!) and how we'd load a minimal kernel & add plug-ins to it to customise it to be what we need. This time it's the same debate with Microsoft through the Windows Server 2008 & Windows 7 debates.

The server was going to be the centre of the world and we'd have no intelligence at the user interface - then they called in "X", now we call it Thin-Client. Xerox PARC had the user benefits of it nailed all along in 82, but it needed Apple to bring it to market.